What Is the Meaning of Sacred Months in Islam?

What Is the Meaning of Sacred Months in Islam?

You might have heard the words Sacred months in Islam, and most people when they hear that think of Ramadan but it’s much more than that.

So if you want to know the meaning of sacred months in Islam, you just have to keep reading.

What Is the Meaning of Sacred Months in Islam?

There are four sacred months in Islam and these months; are prohibited for fighting or going to war and it’s mentioned in the Quran (Surah Al-Baqarah, 217): “They ask you about the sacred month – about fighting therein. Say, “Fighting therein is great [sin], but averting [people] from the way of Allah and disbelief in Him are greater [sins]…; 

However, there is one exception, if the war is a response to aggression. The four sacred months are:

  1. Muharram (the first month of the Islamic lunar calendar)
  2. Rajab (the seventh month)
  3. Dhul-Qa’dah (the eleventh month)
  4. Dhul-Hijjah (the twelfth month)

In these four months; it’s important for Muslims to be more obedient than ever and it will be more rewarding and the disobedience is considered greater during these four months.

They should pray regularly, show their gratitude, help people in need (if they can), do as much goodness as they can, and engage more in acts of worship.

The Importance of the 4 Sacred Months in Islam

The sacred months in Islam hold a distinct significance:

Throughout these months, the consequences of both virtuous and wrongful actions are heightened. After the month of Ramadan, the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) particularly promotes fasting during Muharram.

Some Islamic scholars recognize an increase in compensation for harm caused to others (blood money) during these months, emphasizing the importance of respect and responsibility.

Allah has bestowed honor upon these months, elevating them above others.

Many important religious rituals, including Hajj and Umrah, occur within these months. The Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) himself performed Umrah multiple times during this period.

Critical junctures in the Islamic calendar, like the initial ten days of Dhul-Hijjah and the Day of Arafah, fall within these hallowed months. Fasting on Ashura, within this timeframe, holds the power to absolve sins for an entire year.

To sum up, the sacred months in Islam are distinguished periods marked by amplified rewards for good deeds, opportunities for spiritual devotion, and avenues for seeking forgiveness.

What You Should Avoid in The Sacred Months?

In the sanctity of the 4 Sacred Months in Islam, injustice is deemed the gravest sin, with its burden amplified compared to other times. As the Quran states, “So do not wrong yourselves therein,” emphasizing the severity of transgressions during these sacred periods.

During these sacred months, one of their special features is that the Hajj rituals take place in Dhul-Hijjah. Allah mentions this by saying, “Hajj is [during] well-known months.” Also, Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) stressed the importance of the first ten days of Dhul-Hijjah, calling them especially remarkable.

Furthermore, fasting during the sacred month of Allah, Muharram is esteemed. Additionally, the day of Ashura, as narrated by the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him), is renowned for its ability to expiate sins of the past year through fasting.

Why Is the Month Rajab Separate from the Other Sacred Months?

Some scholars have explained why Rajab is distinguished from the other sacred months in Islam. 

They suggest that it was designated separately to facilitate the performance of ‘umrah (lesser pilgrimage) in the middle of the year, while the consecutive sacred months were designated for Hajj (pilgrimage).

Ibn Katheer, may Allah have mercy on him, clarified this concept. He stated that the sacred months were respected by the majority of Arabs during the pre-Islamic era (Jaahiliyyah). 

The tribe of Mudar observed Rajab as the month between Jumada and Sha’ban, contrary to the belief of the tribe of Rabee’ah. 

Rajab was made sacred to allow people to visit the Ka’bah and perform ‘umrah during this mid-year period.

Ar-Raazi added that singling out certain times for special significance is not uncommon in religious laws. 

Just as Friday is distinguished from other days of the week and Ramadan from other months, Rajab has its unique importance. 

This is a part of Allah’s wisdom, and it is not unusual for certain acts of worship to be more effective during specific times.

In conclusion, Rajab’s separate status allows for the Umrah pilgrimage during the middle of the year, aligning with the overall system of sacred months designated for specific religious rituals.

This is a part of Allah’s divine wisdom, and it is not within human authority to alter the significance of these designated times.


If you liked this article and found it helpful; you can share it with your friends and family; you can also check out our other articles you may find them useful as well.

Also, if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us; we are always here to help.

Read More: Dua Istikhara With English Translation

Quran Classes For Children

Learn Quran Online: A Comprehensive Guide

Convenient Quran Lessons
Subscribe to our Newsletter